It’s Over Now…

It seems odd to celebrate someone’s “death day.”  Given my love of Layne Staley and his music, it would seem more appropriate to celebrate his birthday.  But I can’t help thinking of Layne’s personal struggle with drugs not only every April 5, but almost every time I hear his music.  And I would likely have my “Grunge” card revoked if I didn’t also mention Nirvana frontman Kurt Cobain, whose suicide ironically occurred on this same day, eight years before, also after a struggle with heroin, which he claimed to have tried in order to help cope with a painful stomach condition.  (It is interesting to note that in both cases, the musicians’s bodies were not discovered immediately after their deaths, so the date of their death was determined by medical professionals.)

“We chase misprinted lies
We face the path of time…

If I can’t be my own, I’d feel better dead”

 

“Chaos and hate shadow me, pain it fills me up…Only one thing makes me feel, missing better half of me.”

 

 

*related: http://alienredqueen.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/in-chains-music-and-drug-addiction/

 

Kurt Donald Cobain~ 2/20/1967-4/5/1994

Layne Thomas Staley~ 8/22/1967- 4/5/2002

3419961390_0d9fbaea7d

 

 

 

5 responses to “It’s Over Now…

    • I don’t know much about “new” alternative music… I honestly don’t get much exposure to new music, beings my car radio doesn’t work properly. I mostly listen to my tried and true favorites, because a lot of today’s music disappoints me. Does alternative even exist as a genre anymore? When I think of alternative I think of grunge era alt. It was alternative and “Industrial Rock” (a la Nine Inch Nails…) Maybe the names have changed but the music is the same??

Message for the Queen?

