Of Sleeping and Waking Thoughts

I had some very strange dreams last night.  Some were interesting, some were kind of funny, and at least one was pretty scary.

Some of the highlights include:

–being in a very strange stage production, where I got to dance with Kevin Bacon…except Kevin was sort of uppity, and had strict rules about being touched.  Somehow I doubt he’s really like that.  I see him as having more of a sense of humor, as perhaps evidenced by his Footloose entrance on the Jimmy Kimmel Show or his even earlier dance-capades on Will and Grace.

D41083FC6C75651E182521444F3B

–hiding in dark and semi-underground school with other “kids,” in a video game-like battle against zombies, where found objects (even aerosol cans of air freshener) can be used as weapons.

And finally… a sort of terrifying nightmare where I was being put under (anesthesia) to undergo open heart surgery.  I could feel myself succumbing to the effects of the anesthesia, trying to talk but having a hard time being heard, and then at the last moment, panicking at the prospect of having my chest cracked open and the pain I’d experience upon waking.  Wanting to tell them to stop but feeling like it was too late.

That last one has to mean something, right?

In case you are wondering, I’ve known a couple of people who have had open heart surgery.  My mom in particular has a rough time with the pain and healing.  Oddly enough, some of the older people I knew who had the same procedure who had an easier time healing, but I can only guess how traumatic it can really be.

But, then there are cool people like Robin Williams, who can always somehow seem to make the best of just about anything.

article-0-04EE76B8000005DC-262_468x312

 

I’m sure at least some of the dreams are stress related (the place that has had my wedding ring for repair for almost a month still hasn’t done anything with it, and my old bank is trying to screw me with undeserved overdraft fees–they tack on an additional $12 every three days I refuse to bring the account up to a zero balance by paying the fees they keep adding.) Maybe I need to try to be more like Robin Williams.  Nothing gets that guy down!

 

 

 

22 responses to “Of Sleeping and Waking Thoughts

  1. All over the shop! I’m lucky if I can remember one dream per night, and that’s always a shame as I find mine quite interesting. Some of the images would be great in Japanese horror movies. I don’t think Mr Bacon has ever featured, or me dancing (I don’t even want to see me dance in dreams). The surgery one is interesting. What do you think it means?

Message for the Queen?

