Poppin’ Pills… (Birth Control, that is.)

Women on Top: How Real Life Has Changed Women'...

I spoke with a friend of mine last night who is using fertility treatments to get pregnant. That is when I was informed of this:

http://www.fertilityauthority.com/costs/insurance-coverage/maryland-infertility-insurance-mandate

which in a nutshell mandates companies must also include benefits from expenses resulting from in vitro fertilization (IVF) procedures. NOW, tell me how fertility and pregnancy are required to be covered, but some law makers are trying to allow employers the right to TAKE AWAY the birth control option. If that doesn’t reek of a conservative/ religious agenda, I don’t know what does. Furthermore, I am SO SICK of hearing the “Why should I pay for something I don’t agree with” argument. You are fooling yourself, and sorely mistaken if you don’t think your income taxes and other taxes you pay don’t go to MANY things with which you wouldn’t agree EVERY FUCKING DAY.

So, in the same vein as my last post on quitting smoking, I would like to suggest that everyone worry a little less about other people’s business, and more about their own.  Stop trying to make decisions for other people based on your moral code or religion.  Try focusing on issues that apply to everyone, like crime prevention or the price of gas.

Am I being too circumspect?  Let me state it a bit more clearly for the slow ones in the class.  Mind your own fucking business.
Thank you and have a nice day.

3 responses to “Poppin’ Pills… (Birth Control, that is.)

  1. You’re welcome! 🙂 Can I open a can of worms, maybe? It’s OK with those in power to pay for fertility treatments, because only people with money get them in the first place. It’s also NOT ok for those same people to not have kids, or get abortions, for the same reason. Now, what ‘class’ of Ameicans has the most money?

    • Well, I don’t know. I mean, the business execs and politicians obviously have a lot of money, but aside from politics and the entertainment/sports industry, private and specialized doctors are the only people can think of offhand that are actually living “comfortably” right now. However, this friend I mentioned is by no means rich, and I know that their insurance is paying for at least part of the fertility treatments. If this whole “war against women” issue really IS less about religion and more about money,(like some people are claiming) then I really don’t see any incentive for politicians to want insurance companies to pay for fertility treatments (unless they were receiving ‘compensation’ for having that opinion on the issue.)

  2. Pingback: I Hate Everyone Equally | alienredqueen

Message for the Queen?

