Here We Go Again ~sigh~ (re-blog)

Another article I originally wrote for To The Controller! Gaming

…And the adventures in gaming just keep coming for this “girl” gamer.  I saw this on MemeBase somewhere, and worse than the actual content (which is hard to read anyhow) were the ensuing comments, shining examples of  chauvinism and idiocy at their finest.

The best (worst) of these little gems was the assertion that gamer girls are deserving of “no sympathy” because most of them only hang around in the gamer lobbies to get attention from guys.

Some might defend this sentiment saying, “Well, he didn’t say ALL gamer girls are like that, just most.  I suppose I could use the same logic and flip the scenario then; “most gamer guys will hit on the female gamer shamelessly the first chance they get.”  Not fair or accurate, is it?

After reading through a lot of the comments, from men and boys, girls and (hopefully) gamer women, I would hazard a guess that the attention-seeking that goes on has more to do with an adolescent frame of mind (not age, necessarily, but mentality) than it does the shape of gentalia in the gamer’s pants!

As to the assertion that us girls just want attention in the lobbies, I’ll say this: I am 30 years old (31 next month, eh hem, ~cough~)  I am not a girl.  I am a woman.   And secondly, I have a husband and a 2o month old.  When I DO have time to game, you can be damn sure I’m not going to spend it hanging around online waiting for horny adolescents to hit on me.  Actually, what’s worse is that lately, the guys that hit on me online actually are closer to MY age than their teen years!  Adult men (who should know better and act better) sending me messages saying that I “sound gorgeous” (on my bluetooth) and calling me “Princess.”  Fuckin’ REALLY?!

It’s not as if my gamer tag ADVERTISES my female-ness.  I am thinking that as soon as they hear my voice on the bluetooth (even if they don’t have one, my voice may be heard on their TV speakers if my headset is on!)  a bell goes off in their head (balls?): “GIRRRRRRL!”

Perhaps some of my irritation and malaise with this ridiculousness has to do with the fact that this extends into my “real” life as well.  My 70- some year old neighbor who thinks he’s Casanova is always telling me how “good [I] look.”  An old school mate and Facebook acquaintance has repeated made lascivious remarks to me this week, despite knowing I am married.  (He’s got one more strike before being defriended!)  And it’s not like I’m Angelina Jolie or anything.  I’m not trying to give that impression at all.  But that doesn’t seem to matter either.

Now I may seem like the type of no-bullshit person who would just cram said jerks’ balls back down their throats…but I really do prefer to resolve issues without conflict and hurt feelings.  I like to “make friends” and don’t like to be on the receiving end of nastiness either if I can help it.  I am a “second-chance” giver.

But I might have to rethink my policy on handling these types of “friends,” both online and off.  Maybe I should just handle them the way I handle player killers!  Playr killerz get Playr killd, beeetches!

To the Controller! Gaming

…And the adventures in gaming just keep coming for this “girl” gamer.  I saw this on MemeBase somewhere, and worse than the actual content (which is hard to read anyhow) were the ensuing comments, shining examples of  chauvinism and idiocy at their finest.

The best (worst) of these little gems was the assertion that gamer girls are deserving of “no sympathy” because most of them only hang around in the gamer lobbies to get attention from guys.

Some might defend this sentiment saying, “Well, he didn’t say ALL gamer girls are like that, just most.  I suppose I could use the same logic and flip the scenario then; “most gamer guys will hit on the female gamer shamelessly the first chance they get.”  Not fair or accurate, is it?

After reading through a lot of the comments, from men and boys, girls and (hopefully) gamer women, I…

View original post 414 more words

Message for the Queen?

