BE The Mom; loving yourself

I’ve been thinking about this a lot in the past couple of days, and what better day to stop thinking and write it all down than Mother’s Day?

I have been pretty hard on myself, especially lately.  I’m sure there are a few reasons for that, but for this purpose I guess they are pretty irrelevant.  What is important is my stomach is too fat, my nose is too big.  I’m not pretty enough, I’m not a good enough mother.  I spend too much time on the computer.  I don’t keep the house clean enough.  I’m a naggy wife.  I’m not successful enough.  I screw things up.

And as I looked at my poochy belly the other day and once more thought to myself “that’s just disgusting,” I realized something important;

I love my daughter more than anything, and I want her to grow up loving herself and knowing she is special.  I would love her even if her nose was too big or she had a pudgy belly…and SHE loves me no matter what I look like (or clean like or what I screw up.) 

How can I expect her to love herself, though, when I am not setting that example for her by loving myself?  When she gets a little older and comes to me and says, “Mommy, I don’t like my nose,” or “Mommy, am I fat?” (and it may happen considering all the pressure put on girls and women to be beautiful,) how can I tell her she is beautiful no matter what when I don’t believe that for myself?

So, for her sake, if not for my own, I am going to make an effort to be kinder to myself, and see in me all the good that I see and want for her.

I love you, baby. You’re beautiful.

photo ©Cynthia Gemmill and alienredqueen

6 responses to “BE The Mom; loving yourself

  1. Well, I can’t speak for your looks, having never seen you – but for me, your MIND is beautiful and that always meant more to me – ill send pics of my exes to prove it 🙂 Joking aside, you’re 100% right. I feel bad for the young ones now who have the best body and skin they will EVER have and still think they aren’t good enough. I can only hope I set a good example, by not giving that big of a shit what I look like and still think I look good. Mostly because I’m bloody comfortable, which is underrated by the young 🙂

      • Comfort makes you comfy – and who isn’t confident when they feel good? Tottering round on heels in a skirt you have to pull down constantly and can not bend over in, or go up stairs in, or spending ages on makeup that needs touched up every 20 minutes to retain perfection – not comfortable. Yep, I got wrinkles, a Dunlop spare tire, bad hair that is going grey, so what, I earned it all and the belly I can make go away if I care enough. But put me in my Harley jacket and New Rock boots and I feel 15 again. Which is my mental age anyway 🙂

Message for the Queen?

