Methos: The Original Jackass

My husband and I had a short discussion this morning (if you can really call a few bleary 7 AM musings anything so grand as a “discussion” ) about our boy cat Methos.  He’d been annoying me (again!) with his nighttime and early morning antics, and an observation (which should have been obvious) came to my sleepy mind as Methos moved from his spot next to my belly, where he was being lavished with pettin’s, (after having hopped up on the bed and (more than likely done his usual pushy headbutt thingie,) and went to curl up next to my legs.  And the observation was this;

Methos is a “grass is greener” kind of cat.  In this case, the grass is greener at the bottom of the bed…until it’s greener at the top.  And  it never has more appeal than when me, hubby, AND the baby are all smooshed in the bed together.  Then, Methos has to wedge himself in between us anywhere he can…touching all three of us at once, if at all possible.

Methos

The food in the container that he can’t get to is always better than that half-day old food in his bowl.

The apple in my hand is what he wants…until I give it to him and he realizes he doesn’t eat fruit.

As my husband noted, he only wants to be across the room at three in the morning if he can get there in half a second flat.

He is the most lovable of my three (now 2) cats, but he’s also the most annoying.  He’s pushy, always underfoot, he always does things he knows he’s not supposed to…and he’s noisy.   Myrr? Myrr myrr myrr?  And he’s always stepping on my husband’s  balls.  The whining especially has I think gotten worse since Neeners passed away.

But he’s also really cool.  He’s a big boy, not really fat, but beefy.   Even non-cat people (like my FIL) are charmed by him.  He’s super-friendly.  He plays fetch.  I’m tempted to say he’s very like a dog…but he still has plenty of “cat-itude” to go around.  I love that big, dumb bastard.  I took a “Which Celebrity is your Cat” quiz (thank you, Dianda) and Methos is Johnny Knoxville.

Your cat is Johnny Knoxville!
The kind of pet that can leap tall fences in a single bound (or not, but give it a shot anyhow), Methos is the original Jackass, Johnny Knoxville!
Going through the pain so you don’t have to, Methos knows that he trots a fine line between funny and stupid, but he doesn’t care—he’s laughing about it all the way to the pet store. His over-the-top antics make you grimace with fear and you often find it hard to believe that he actually enjoys playing the class clown. But Methos laps it up and continues to defy the odds, despite your warnings and concerns. Other males in the pack tend to be a little jealous of Methos, but the females find him simply dreamy. A die-hard good ol’ boy, Methos is more of a General Lee type than a Knight Rider, but give him enough time to think things through and he’s sure to find a way to wreck both vehicles at the same time.

And that should tell you all you need to know about Methos.  He is the “original jackass.”

Related articles

30 responses to “Methos: The Original Jackass

  1. I had a cat growing up that would never leave me alone when I was eating carrots. And same thing as you with the apple, of course he didn’t want it. Jerk cats!

  2. Ha! Well Methos has to be your Bengal 🙂 And im pretty sure in that photo he’s doing ‘teeth on skin, not love-biting, exactly, but thinking hard about it.’ I didn’t take the test, because I don’t know much about celebrities and a lot of the description would be lost on me. Howeveah – I do know Jackass! And I can bet my Bengal would get the saaaame answer. Did you read the long post where I describe what a pain in the hole he can be? I’d link but I know how you feel about that 🙂

  3. That your cat is Johnny Knoxville is indeed a reason for concern. However, take some comfort in the knowledge that Methos isn’t that half-witted cretin, Steve-o.

  4. I took the quiz for my two cats. My little menace Onyx was Al Gore. And giant lovely boy was Snoop Dogg….go figure!
    Right now, Onyx is curled up with my dog. But guarantee, as with any other night, as soon as the lights go out he will run around the house, body slam (seriously, full on body slam) the bedroom door, and then leap all me in bed, lick nose….and his favorite, stand on my throat if I ignore him. (Luckily he’s not a ball or booby cat).

    • Standing on your throat is pretty bold though. LOL, like, “You don’t need to breathe or anything, do ya???” Methos laid on my face last night. I hate when I get cat hair stuck in my chapstick

      • LOL! I’m sure thats Onyx’s train of thought too. “You’re asleep, so you dont need to breathe. Either wake up and play, or die.”
        Ewww, dog hair in my lipgloss is usually my thing. My lovely, darling, rather large dog, insists on sharing my pillow…and sometimes my teddy bear.

  5. Pingback: A Memo to Methos | alienredqueen

  6. Pingback: The Methos Chronicles: Episode [Nonoxynol] 9 | alienredqueen

  7. Pingback: Update on Methos | alienredqueen

  8. Pingback: Shit Luck (but I got my cat!) | alienredqueen

Message for the Queen?

