Why I Don’t Give a Crap About Voting

Call me a misanthrope– you might be right.  Call me cynical– you’re probably right.  Frustrated?  Definitely.  And I have hesitated to blog my opinions on the presidential campaign because I don’t feel like getting into a debate with anyone about my views on Obama, Romney, the 47%, welfare, gay marriage, or anything else really.  I don’t want to have to defend my feelings to ignorant people, or even to educated people.

But I will say one thing, and it’s not about either candidate, per se, and in all honesty, is an opinion I think could be applied to the world on a macro-level.

A few moments ago I posted this status to my Facebook page:

Upon discussion of why electoral voting was implemented, someone said it was so that the uninformed “rabble” couldn’t elect a nitwit… my first thought was “now the uninformed rabble can’t elect a nitwit because the corporations have BOUGHT their nitwit’s votes with campaign money.

This sums up my issue with this country in a nutshell.  Our votes don’t mean squat.

A quick point about the electoral college:

Most of the time, electors cast their votes for the candidate who has received the most votes in that particular state. Some states have laws that require electors to vote for the candidate that won the popular vote, while other electors are bound by pledges to a specific political party. However, there have been times when electors have voted contrary to the people’s decision, and there is no federal law or Constitutional provision against it. (source)

The key phrases to note there are “most of the time” and “no federal law or provision” to prevent electors for voting contrary to the people’s (that us “common folk”) decisions.

And apparently there a quite a few people who feel this way.

If we have these fancy voting machines and all this technology now that was not present even 50 years ago, why can’t we move this country toward a more direct presidential election process?

We hold elections where these men spend untold thousands of dollars to make us promises and then blame them when they can’t fix in one term, decades’ worth  of the country’s issues.

As one of my very intelligent and sensitive friends pointed out:

The last four years have taught me that it doesn’t actually matter who is president so long as congress won’t let them do anything they said they would…

What started as a checks and balances action has in at least some measure made our leaders impotent.

But what it basically boils down to for me is an overwhelming feeling that us “little people” will never be able to compete against the big corporations or the extremely wealthy private parties who have enough capital to ensure their will is carried out…

Proposed amendment to voting propaganda:
“It’s Up to You!… SYKE!HaHa.JK.LOL!RUFKM?”

6 responses to “Why I Don’t Give a Crap About Voting

  1. The last four years have taught me that it doesn’t actually matter who is president so long as congress won’t let them do anything they said they would…
    ^ ^ ^ — Dead nuts on…

  2. Pingback: Post Election Post « Dirty Laundry

Message for the Queen?

