What Has Happened to the “News?”

I’ll admit I like a quirky or interesting story as much as the next person.  Today, I was reading a Huffington Post article about a woman who had her gym membership revoked after breaking the “no cell phones” rule one too many times. I’ll even admit I commented, or rather, replied to a few comments.  I just really can’t stand it when people think it’s okay to annoy and inconvenience others around them with their cell habits (or any habits) just because it’s convenient for them.

But then I realized…this is not news.  As one person succinctly summed up in the comments, So what.  Go to another gym. Why is this news?  I mean, the article was just reporting, not an editorial.  It wasn’t written from a specific standpoint, like an admonishment to not be a dick while on your cell phone, and the subject is not exactly something that raises awareness in others.  The lady broke the rules, she got kicked out.  No injustice there.  End of story.

And then I thought back to some recent discussions hubby and I had about the same thing.  Featured television news stories on Kate Middleton’s “baby bump,” while a tiny ticker tape at the bottom of the screen noted people killed overseas and accidents and whatnot…you know…relevant news.

It’s pretty disgusting actually.  I know most don’t want to see bad news and horror and death all the time for a while. I stopped logging in to my AOL mail for a while because literally every day, it seemed like there was a new case of child abuse or family annihilation in the news.  But that doesn’t mean our “happy” news pieces have to be a fluff and no substance.

As much darkness as there is in the world, there is also great people doing kind things, and plenty of “feel good” stuff that merits more recognition than Kim Kardashian getting fat or Kate Middletons “baby belly.”

A dog that saves some soldiers from a Taliban bomb.  A bunch of volunteers rescuing 900 dogs from poor conditions.  Or maybe check out these child philanthropists…

The sad thing is, most of the time, you actually have to dig for these types of stories, whereas all the daily bullshit of stupid people is readily available as soon as you open any search engine home page  (ex),whether you want to see it or not.

And a lot of us are reading this shit.  I do it sometimes too…   Please give me something better to read…or at the very least, confine the gossipy, Hollywood bullshit to just a small headline or a tiny ticker tape at the bottom of the TV screen.  Americans need to readjust their priorities and perspectives, and maybe some of them need a little help seeing what is really important.

My first quick meme...I'm so proud...~sniff~

My first quick meme…I’m so proud...~sniff~

And as usual, my girl over at B(itch) Log is on the same wavelength:  http://heatherchristenaschmidt.com/2013/03/04/can-i-have-your-autograph/

19 responses to “What Has Happened to the “News?”

  1. While I was growing up, I was really into Superman.

    The comics, the many cartoons and TV shows; I loved them all.
    Surprisingly, it wasn’t an attraction to the lead character, but more to the depiction of investigative journalism that was usually found in the depiction of ancillary characters such as Lois Lane, Perry White and Jimmy Olsen.

    The idea that journalists were more like Detectives who operated outside of the confines and restrictions of law, dedicated to exposing the truth at whatever cost excited my inner revolutionary and made me really idolize the profession.

    Unfortunately, as an adult I see that news media is just another profit hungry institution like any other. Obsessed with viewers/readers – kind of like me when I look longingly at my blog stats… – rather than presenting and exposing truth for the good of the general public and far more interested in promoting individual agendas over presenting facts in a genuinely unbiased way.

    I could go on… but this will end up being a blog post within a blog post so… yeah. Thanks for this. You are damn right: It is disgusting.

    • Haha! I agree, and I welcome your “lengthy” commentary. Another annoying [stereotype] of journalism is the “tenacious” and irritating, yet strikingly attractive female journalist that’s always a basic pain in the ass to the main character of the show…but she is more the type of journalist you mentioned. Going after to the truth, and to hell with the consequences. You prob know what I mean, but some examples off the top of my head are the annoying journalist chick that always followed Duncan MacLeod around (and he sleeps with her) in the Highlander series, the annoying journalist chick that John sleeps with in The Dead Zone, the annoying journalist chick Jean Claude sleeps with in Bloodsport… Am I sensing a pattern here?

      • That’s weak writing. “Ok, strong male character, check. Female… female… Has to be able to get close to SMC, but how? I know! A no-nonsense ‘bulldog’ reporter who somehow always is right there dogging (ha) his heels! She’s a reporter so HAS to be pretty, of course. And she can screw SMC later on if we run out of story lines!” The reason they are annoying is: how da feic are these reporters manage to be ‘always right there’ is never explained.

  2. “So, you listen to me. Listen to me: Television is not the truth! Television is a God-damned amusement park! Television is a circus, a carnival, a traveling troupe of acrobats, storytellers, dancers, singers, jugglers, side-show freaks, lion tamers, and football players. We’re in the boredom-killing business! So if you want the truth… Go to God! Go to your gurus! Go to yourselves! Because that’s the only place you’re ever going to find any real truth.” ~ Howard Beale played by Peter Finch from the 1976 movie Network

    Pretty much sums it all up. It’s rather depressing to turn on the tube. The past few months I’ve been hanging out on Huffington Post and it’s even more depressing reading and commenting on certain posts on that site. I just don’t get human beings anymore. May be I’m out of touch; maybe I’m not fit for this world. Oh well. Just gotta keep doing me until my number comes up.

  3. Ok comment on the actual post now! I went for a walk. I miss reading the paper. Reading local stories, that made a difference. I don’t read papers online, though. I always feel defensive when people say bad things about the media. My mom was a newspaper reporter, then editor. She did ‘feature stories’ which she called ‘people stories.’ But, it was a smallish town and she was such a positive person, everything she wrote was a happy story.

    And no, she never slept with the mayor for a good scoop 🙂

  4. We are bombarded with information, but so little of it relevant. There are a number of contributing factors–our shrinking attention span, the advent of 24-hour cable news, the age of media, etc.
    The only viable solution, I think, is to got back to teaching our children critical thinking skills, something that is sorely lacking in modern society.

Message for the Queen?

