In Which I Bitch About the Duggars

Happened across this article on People about the Duggar family; apparently they’re considering adding to their already ginormous family of 19 by adopting.

While I think it’s lovely for a family to open their hearts and their homes to orphaned children, and while supposedly there is no question of the Duggars being loving parents, I can’t help but be a little annoyed.

I know, I know.  I’m generally a proponent of the mind your own fucking business theory and practice, I can’t help but wonder…

At what point are these people considered child hoarders?

What is this pathological need they feel to “collect” children ?

They say they have to make sure God wants them to adopt first.  Do they have a direct line to God? A toll free number maybe?  If so, I wish they’d share that shit with the rest of us.  We could maybe clear up some of these pesky questions about same-sex marriage and prayers in school…and meat on Fridays during Lent.

At least we don't live with the Duggars...

At least we don’t live with the Duggars…

11 responses to “In Which I Bitch About the Duggars

  1. At what point are these people considered child hoarders?

    What is this pathological need they feel to “collect” children ?

    Hahahahahahahahaha! Funniest fucking thing I read all day! I concur!!!

  2. Hahaha. When they have adopted so much children, they don’t have enough rooms, I consider them a hoarder. Basically because they haven’t thought about that room they don’t have, and only think about the kid. Unless then they move to a bigger place… then i don’t know!

  3. All the rest are theirs ‘naturally,’ right? It’s a vagina, not a clown car! Christ that woman must not ever be able to sneeze or cough after that amount of abdominal abuse. Surprised her uterus isn’t hanging out of her skirts. Hey maybe it is – hence the desire to adopt…
    I take solace in that quite a few of the younger boys will be gay (studies show!) and that any adopted kid will have plenty of babysitters. Whatever. It’s worse that they are famous for doing this – yet another freakish behaviour.

    • Maybe that’s how she gets preggo so easy (hangy uterus!) At any rate, it’s like they have something missing in their souls or their lives and they’re trying to fill it with kids. o.O

  4. Yeah, I think the desire for that many children indicates something on a psychological level; I just can’t figure out what it is. My sister has seven kids because she believes that’s what God wanted, but she’s done now. I mean, she’s spent over five years pregnant, so I hope she gets a chance to rest and let them grow up now without having 3+ toddlers running around at all times. I adore my nieces and nephews, but my sister’s so worn out all the time and gets horrible migraines. I can’t imagine almost tripling the number of kids.

    • Yeah, that sounds exhausting. I find ONE toddler exhausting! I’m just curious though, how do ppl like your sister and the Duggars know that’s what God wants? I mean, presumably, God gives us free will, so choosing to exercise that will by having children or NOT using birth control doesn’t necessarily mean “God” wants you to have the kids… I dunno. I mean, if she can take care of her kids, more power to your sister, but nineteen??? Good lord.

Message for the Queen?

