Well, it’s not the 8th plague…

It’s not exactly a “plague of locusts,” (or a locust at all), but since I missed out on the Northeast brood this year, one of the largest broods of cyclical cicadas, I guess it will have to do…

Found this guy, trying to escape a hungry bird in our "yard."

Found this guy, trying to escape a hungry bird in our “yard.”

Most people think cicadas are ugly or gross, but I think they're pretty cool looking.

Most people think cicadas are ugly or gross, but I think they’re pretty cool looking.

10 responses to “Well, it’s not the 8th plague…

  1. It’s beautiful! And big! Are you sure that’s a cicada, it looks more like a xenofly to me! I think i’m falling in love… 😐

  2. I always liked them as a kid in FL, I was fascinated with the shells they left behind on tree bark when they moulted. Always thought they were pretty, too. Had a boyfriend who drove a Jeep Wrangler, one day with the top off we hit a cicada and HALF of it went down the front of his shirt. He screamed. We didn’t last long after that.

Message for the Queen?

