Ambien Shame

So I was all sorts of excited last night because I got some Ambien from my doc.  I’ve been sleeping so poorly lately, and aside from the normal “dealing with child” stuff, I can’t figure out why.  My birth control has been wreaking havoc on my hormones so maybe that has something to do with it.

But anyway, I took my Ambien last night, looking forward to falling asleep fast and NOT needing to eat ten times and get up to pee fifty.  And then I made a classic Ambien mistake.

"Other complex behaviors (e.g., preparing and eating food, making phone calls, or having sex) have been reported in patients who are not fully awake after taking a sedative-hypnotic. As with “sleep-driving”, patients usually do not remember these events. Amnesia, anxiety and other neuro-psychiatric symptoms may also occur." (source)

“Other complex behaviors (e.g., preparing and eating food, making phone calls, or having sex) have been reported in patients who are not fully awake after taking a sedative-hypnotic. As with “sleep-driving”, patients usually do not remember these events. Amnesia, anxiety and other neuro-psychiatric symptoms may also occur.” (source)

I got up.  I thought I had time before it “kicked in” to grab a quick glass of milk.  I was feeling a tiny bit empty and wanted to coat my belly with something.

Apparently it had already kicked in.  Most of the rest of what I will recount was told to me by my hubby this morning.  I don’t remember much of it…and what I do remember, I thought was a dream.  I woke up to a cup of fruit snacks next to my bed this morning, with only the vaguest idea of how they got there.  Hubby said I asked for them.

Anyway, I brought J* out to sit with hubby around 10 pm because she just would not sleep. I got my milk, and polished off the rest of the dark chocolate Hershey bar I had left in the fridge.  Then I guess I went to the bathroom… and puked everywhere.

thought I maybe had a dream about throwing up.  Had no idea I had actually done it until hubby came home for lunch and asked if I was “feeling better.”  Not only did I puke everywhere- homemade chili and chocolate.  Somehow I even got some on the tub next to the toilet. I told hubby I felt bad he had to clean up after me and I didn’t even know it. He said I cleaned most of it up myself.  (I don’t remember.)   With what, I asked disgusted, wondering if I was going to find a pukey towel in the laundry.

Wipes, I guess, he said.

Where did I put them? 

In the trash can I guess…

I hope I flushed them…  I tentatively went in to take a second look at the bathroom.  I’d already been in there numerous times today and noticed nothing amiss, so between the two if us, we must have cleaned up okay…

A spot or to on the floor towel we use to soak up water by the tub.  A dribble on the outside of the toilet.  That’s all the evidence that’s left.  That and a resolution to only take half a pill tonight, and under no circumstances, get out of bed.

And the mild feeling of shame, like a drunk, post blackout.  Heed the drug warnings, people!

13 responses to “Ambien Shame

  1. Oh my… what a loving husband! I’ve NEVER had a bad reaction to Ambien… but everyone is so different, so it is impossible to compare.

    I REALLY recommend melatonin. It’s all-natural, cheap, and doesn’t require a prescription. The best part? It actually works!

    Try to look at things from a positive light: at least you weren’t trying to have sex with the toaster 🙂

    • I have tried Melatonin, a long time ago. Guess I could give it another go. I don’t really consider my reaction to it bad, more “typical.” It’s just, I should have stayed in bed. LOL

  2. Pingback: Oh dear god, not again… | alienredqueen

  3. Pingback: Insomnia: The Middle of the Night | alienredqueen

Message for the Queen?

