IN which I pontificate about social activism and crabby people…

I’m tired of reading these dumb arguments. Below is a meme about the people upset about Cecil the Lion’s murder, and asking why people aren’t upset about black people being killed every day.  Really it’s the same old song and dance.  Every time people express outrage or grief about something, other people come out in droves to bitch about those people and how their priorities are all wrong…or whatever.  They’re like…grief trolls or something.  I never realized until I spent so much time on social media that “caring about something” had to be so mutually exclusive to “caring about anything else.”  Apparently, we as human beings can only care about one thing at a time, I guess.  But let’s address this particular meme for a second.
11013060_876318259102844_3391847505955566518_n
Firstly, the above argument will fall on many a deaf ear simply because many people tend to reserve a different place of outrage for people killing innocent animals. Generally speaking, with a few exceptions, most animal aggression is out of resource guarding instinct or fear driven.  There is little malice aforethought.  You may not agree with that logic, but that’s how it shakes out. Secondly, and more specific to the contents of this meme, the 2013 FBI Uniform Crime Report, a compilation of annual crime statistics, also shows 83 percent of white victims were killed by white offenders; 90 percent of black victims were killed by black offenders. (source 1, 2)
So, playing Devil’s advocate… Do “black lives” only matter when a white person kills them? Given the ever-growing diversity in the country, when interracial crime occurs, does the crime itself or the resulting outcome of the justice system always have to be race related? How about All Lives Matter?
If you say Black Lives Matter, does that mean the rest do not?
Of course not.  *( I am not denying the existence of racism, but I do object to the significant amount of race-baiting done in politics and the media.  I only mention race at all because it is the subject of this particular meme…)
In this case, because Cecil’s life mattered, does that mean we don’t care about people killed every day, be they black, white, civilian, military, abortion, (or whatever else is a hot button issue right for someone?? )
No one can be pissed about everything, all the time; it takes a lot of energy to sustain that level of emotional involvement. Personally speaking,  the emotional toll of even seeing all the bad news online is overwhelming to me at times. Sometimes I just want to shut the computer for a few weeks… There are so many injustices in the world, why do we have to defend our outrage, give reasons why we choose our causes?  How many of these grief trolls on social media, denigrating the people who cared about the lion, doing any more for their own causes than sitting online being critical slactivists?? How about instead of fighting and criticizing one another for which cause we choose to embrace, we focus on improving the circumstances of any given cause?  Anyhow, that’s my cathartic ramble for the day.
Peace.
PS: (Also none of the people/demographics mentioned above were ever hunted by a lion with bait and a gun. Just sayin’.)
4 responses to “IN which I pontificate about social activism and crabby people…

  1. Well said. And I guess I am one of the people guilty of this. And to be honest, I don’t know my own mind about it. I mean if something is awful (as was the slaying of Cecil the Lion), then it’s only right to be angry about it. But it does strike me as funny what people get SO angry about when they don’t have the same anger for a thousand other things like it. I guess what I’m trying to say is that being concerned and even a little angry about these things is okay, but when it becomes a one-to-two-day monomania and is then as quickly forgotten about, then I think you’re just being angry to be angry.
    The Black Lives Matter thing is something I’ve largely stayed out of. Like you, I went researching statistics and ended up with the 2013 FBI stats. Those statistics show me an altogether different picture than what I’m hearing, but it seems like trying to bring that info into a civilized conversation is about as useful as pissing in the wind, and twice as messy.

    • To be sure. I feel weird even posting it, because I don’t want people to get the wrong idea. It’s NEVER okay for a cop to use excessive lethal force, but denying the data won’t help, and I guess, if you think about it, it could be said that it’s really a similar argument to the meme…. Why are a certain demographic enraged by the black lives taken by cops but we don’t hear about the ones taken by drug and gang activity?

      And although you did post something about this, I wasn’t directing it at anyone, so much as venting. lol No worries.
      I think we prob all make these kind of comparisons at times, it just helps to be more mindful and catch ourselves doing it.

  2. I can’t believe that people are still talking in terms like “Blacks”, and “Whites”. That’s racist isn’t it? Get over it already! We are one people, some have a somewhat darker or lighter color than the other, but i have never seen a white person or a black person. Well, maybe a circusclown or someone who fell in an oil container. We better stick together in case of an alien invasion!!

Message for the Queen?

