Shit Luck (but I got my cat!)

bad-luck1

Am I the cat or the mirror? I dunno, but man has our luck been SHIT lately.  As my regular readers know from more recents posts, the trouble actually started several months ago with a run of issues involving our “new” (ha ha) used car.  Then the cat got sick.  You know the one.  Methos, my favorite jackass.  All of this, plus my moaning and worrying. compelled a dear friend to start a GoFundMe for our family, mostly for car and vet bills, but also so we can still go home for the holiday.  I feel like I do nothing but whine lately, and I don’t want to be that person.  It’s just, this run of bad luck and repeated hardship has been sort of …overwhelming.  Lately it feels like one step forward, two steps back.   I know everyone feels this way at one time or another, but lately it has been almost laughable how bad our luck has been.   My husband and friend spent 5 hours yesterday changing a strut out on the car.  The car still knocks (turns out although it needed a strut, the knocking was from another problem.)  Oh, and one of the tires got a flat today.  Le sigh.  Over and over and over.  We are walking backwards here, people.  Making negative progress.  Except….

Except for there is a little silver lining to this big. black cloud.   Or maybe it’s a furry lining.  I’m talking about Methos.  This post was actually supposed to be an update on Methos.  Recently he had a health crisis, and I was very afraid we were going to lose him.  (<—Link for those not in the loop) and… For my friends who have been following, I am stoked to say, he went for his echocardiogram last Thursday and we found out that case of HCM is very mild and he was prescribed Atenolol to relax his heart muscles and allow his heart to better function.  He will continue to take his Lasix twice a day for a while as well to keep fluid from building up in his chest cavity, but we eventually hope to have to only administer both meds once day.  He is already back to his old, strange self, trying to escape when the front door opens so he can climb a tree, or following me around whining to be fed even though there is food in there.   Or, you know, just laying there (I included a video in case you weren’t sure what “lazy” looked like.  Also, hear that “Oh Lord?” at the end of the video? Haha! The country must be rubbing off on me.  I say “bless it” and “lord” and awful lot for an atheist. lol)   For new friends not yet fully acquainted with the feline wonder that is Methos, click some of these links or search his name on this site for other fun stories. 🙂  All told this little excursion into kitty heathcare has cost us about 1000 dollars we didn’t have, but I can’t help but be thankful it happened now, while we could still get a handle on the problem, and before it became any worse.  I will deal with the bills. I am just glad I still have the cat to go with them. ❤

 

4 responses to “Shit Luck (but I got my cat!)

Message for the Queen?

